Competition ≠ Comparison

The act of comparison is infused into our daily life since the day you come into this world. Survival is our main goal. How animalistic, no? The goal is to be the best in every aspect: intellectually, physically, and socially.

The idea of comparison is pure poison. Healthy competition is one thing but diving into a pool of disparity because of your differences is another. As a species, we have a natural instinct to be the best. I hate that I am constantly comparing myself to others. I can’t sit in a room with my friends and not have the driving thought that they are prettier, smarter, or thinner than I am. It is a disgusting habit. I am in this constant cycle of thinking that I am not approachable because my friends are that beautiful.

What people seem to forget is that beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder. To me, the people in my life are extraordinary. There is so much more to them than just what everyone can see: passion, tenderness, intelligence, generosity, and bravery. What seems to be forgotten is that if you can see that in them, wouldn’t they be able to see the beauty in you?

Physicalities are strictly that: physicalities. You don’t choose to befriend or pursue someone based off of his or her looks. Everyone has different tastes, in literally everything. I don’t like green beans or oatmeal, but I love Brussels sprouts, which are the one vegetable that seems to be universally hated in every movie you watch as a kid. I have a friend that hates Facebook and doesn’t understand why people still use it, but with it 1.15 billion users it is the largest social network in the world. The commonly accepted views in society are usual but there are also different societal trends that aren’t “normal” to everyone. The population is so different. Just because you think your freckles on your shoulders are odd doesn’t meant that someone else finds them lovely.

In the movie Shallow Hal, he is hypnotized to only see woman for their inner beauty. His friend Mauricio tries to snap him out of it and change the hypnosis put on him.

Hal: Let me ask you something. Who is the all-time love of your life?
Mauricio: [ponders] Wonder Woman.
Hal: Okay… let’s say Wonder Woman falls in love with you. And everyone else in the world didn’t find her attractive.
Mauricio: It wouldn’t matter. Because I know they’d be wrong.
Hal: See! That’s what I had with Rosemary! I saw a knockout, I don’t care what anybody else saw!
Mauricio: You’re right. I guess I really did screw you, huh?

Movies from the early 2000’s definitely dropped some knowledge, even if it only go 3 out of 5 stars. To me, Seth Rogen is my idea of the ideal. I share that with my friends and they automatically groan and say “Oh, that’s so you,” and they are right! That is so me because they are my personal preferences. If by some miracle I ever met Seth Rogen and we started dating I would shout it from the rooftops. I’d be happy regardless of others opinions because to me he is awesome! That goes for anyone and their opinions. Your opinion of yourself and other’s is important to you, but not necessarily to anyone else.

Polonious’ last piece of advice to Laertes in Shakespeare’s Hamlet is

This above all: to thine own self be true,
And it must follow, as the night the day,
Thou canst not then be false to any man.
Farewell, my blessing season this in thee!

Stay true to your heart. Who gives a shit what anyone has to say? Your opinions are valid, unless you’re racist, prejudice, or just a schmuck. Choose to spread love and kindness. Choose to see the beauty in life and people, rather than spreading animosity or bitterness.

Leave a Reply

